football Edit

Spring Football Awards

The University of Georgia football team announced it spring football awards Saturday in conjunction with the annual spring G-Day football game. The awards are given annually at the conclusion of spring drills to recognize improvement, dedication and performance on the practice field. The "Junkyard Dawg Award" will be presented at halftime of Saturday's G-Day game. The list of 2007 awards are as follows:
Best All-Around Offensive Player: Mikey Henderson, FLK, Buford
True Grit Award: Tripp Chandler, TE, Woodstock; Marcus Howard, DE, Huger, S.C.
Most Improved Offensive Lineman: Chester Adams, OL, Luverne, Ala.
Most Improved Receiver: Tony Wilson, FLK, Daytona Beach, Fla.
Most Improved Running Back: Shaun Chapas, FB, St. Augustine, Fla.
Biggest Surprise of Spring (Offense): Trinton Sturdivant, OL, Wadesboro, N.C.
Outstanding Walk On (Offense): Mickey White, OL, Loganville; Casey Nickels, TE, Tignall
Most Consistent Running Back: Jason Johnson, RB, Chicago, Ill.
Most Improved Defensive Tackle: Geno Atkins, DL, Pembroke Pines, Fla.
Most Improved Defensive End: Roderick Battle, DE, Atlanta
Most Improved Linebacker: Brandon Miller, LB, Colquitt
Most Improved Defensive Back: Reshad Jones, DB, Atlanta
Outstanding Walk On (Defense): Tripp Taylor, DL, Woodstock
Biggest Surprise of Spring (Defense): Akeem Dent, LB, Atlanta
Coffee County Hustle Award: Fernando Velasco, OL, Wrens; Jason Johnson, RB, Chicago, Ill.; Jeff Owens, DL, Sunrise, Fla.; Darius Dewberry, LB, Ft. Valley; Demarcus Dobbs, DE, Savannah.