Shockley Owens Awards

Georgia's D.J. Shockley is one of the five finalists for the Manning Award, which is presented annually to the nation¹s top quarterback.
Inaugural Manning Award winner Matt Leinart of Southern Cal, Drew Olson of UCLA, Brady Quinn of Notre Dame and Vince Young of Texas joins Shockley as finalists. The award will be announced following the bowls, as it is the only honor that factors in the candidates¹ bowl performances.
The Manning Award was created in honor of the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. A select panel of national media covering college football as well as each of the Mannings will determine the winner.
Shockley was the Most Valuable Player in the SEC Championship Game as the Bulldogs won their second league title in four years. The senior from College Park has passed for 2,311 yards and 21 touchdowns this season, while also rushing for 251 yards and four scores. He was named First-Team All-SEC by The Associated Press and Second-Team All-SEC by the league's coaches.
In related news, Georgia defensive lineman Jeff Owens has been chosen as a member of the SEC Coaches' All-Freshman Team, according to an announcement made on Thursday by the league office.
Owens, a 6-foot-3, 280-pounder from Sunrise, Fla., saw action in all 11 regular-season games as well as the SEC Championship Game. He recorded 16 tackles, including three tackles for loss and 2.5 sacks. Owens also had 12 quarterback hurries and he recovered a fumble.
Owens and the Bulldogs will face West Virginia on Jan. 2 in the Sugar Bowl in Atlanta.