football Edit

Spring Football Awards List

Athens, Ga.----- The University of Georgia football team announced its
spring football awards Saturday in conjunction with the annual spring
G-Day football game. The awards are given annually at the conclusion of
spring drills to recognize improvement, dedication and performance on
the practice field. The "Junkyard Dawg Award" will be presented at
halftime of Saturday's G-Day game. The list of 2005 awards are as
Best All-Around Offensive Player: Leonard Pope, TE, Americus
True Grit Award: Tony Milton, TB, Tallahassee, Fla.; DeMario Minter, SC,
Stone Mountain
Most Improved Offensive Lineman: Chester Adams, TT, Luverne, Ala.
Most Improved Receiver: A.J. Bryant, SE, Fort Valley
Most Improved Running Back: Brannan Southerland, FB, Dacula
Biggest Surprise of the Spring (Offense): Michael Turner, C/OG,
Outstanding Walk-On (Offense): Jason Johnson, TB, Chicago, Ill.
Most Consistent Running Back: Thomas Brown, TB, Tucker; Danny Ware, TB
Best All-Around Defensive Player: Tim Jennings, WC, Orangeburg, SC
Outstanding Defensive Lineman: Gerald Anderson, NT, Waycross
Best Tackler: Greg Blue, FS, College Park
Most Improved Defensive Lineman: Charles Johnson, DE, Hawkinsville;
Jeremy Lomax, DE, Jonesboro
Most Improved Linebacker: Dannell Ellerbe, WLB, Hamlet, NC;
Brandon Miller, SLB, Colquitt
Most Improved Defensive Back: Kelin Johnson, FS, Daytona Beach, Fla.;
Thomas Flowers, SC, Austell
Biggest Surprise of the Spring (Defense): Jeremy Lomax, DE, Jonesboro
Outstanding Walk-On (Defense): Andrew Williams, FS, Blairsville
Biggest Hit of the Spring: Jason Johnson, TB, Chicago, Ill.
Coffee County Hustle Award: Dennis Roland, Jr., TT, Bolivar, Mo.;
Nick Jones, SG, Bowdon; Quentin Moses, DE, Athens; Mike Gilliam, WC,
Tallahassee, Fla.
Junkyard Dog Award, presented by the Touchdown Club of Rockdale
County: Gerald Anderson, NT, Waycross; Max Jean-Gilles, TG, Miami,