Media Days, All-SEC team signify start of season

Two rites of summer have now arrived, signifying that the college football season is not that far away.
First was the release Tuesday of the annual SEC Coaches Football Team, which ironically coincides with the second, the annual SEC Media Days at the Wynfrey Hotel in Hoover, Ala.
Over 800 media members are expected for the three-day event which will get underway Wednesday afternoon with Alabama head coach Nick Saban and Mississippi coach Dan Mullen kicking off the festivities.
For the first time in Media Days history, each school will be bringing three players to the event.
Georgia, which will meet the press Thursday morning, will feature head coach Mark Richt, along with punter Drew Butler, fullback Shaun Chapas and wide receiver A.J. Green.
The Bulldogs will be joined by Arkansas, South Carolina and Vanderbilt while Auburn, Tennessee, LSU and Ole Miss wrap up the event Friday afternoon.
Florida and Kentucky will join Alabama and Ole Miss in Wednesday's opening session.
UGASports will be on hand to bring you full coverage of the event.
Speaking of Alabama, the defending SEC and national champion Crimson Tide placed a league-high six representatives on the All-SEC Coaches First Team.
The Tide was followed by Georgia with four - Butler, kicker Blair Walsh, offensive lineman Clint Boling and Green - while Florida placed three on the first-team squad.
Urban Meyer's Gators did place the most players (10) on the total team. Georgia, which had six total players on the two squads, had guard Cordy Glenn make the second-team offense while Brandon Boykin was the return specialist for the second squad.
Ten of the 12 SEC schools had a member on the first-team All-SEC squad. Each SEC school had at least one student-athlete on either the first or second-team.
South Carolina had a total of five players make both teams, while Arkansas and LSU had four each, Kentucky and Mississippi State had three each, Tennessee and Vanderbilt had two each and Ole Miss had one selection.
There are five first-team pre-season selections that were on last year's first-team coaches All-SEC post-season team. Those include: C Mike Pouncey (Florida), WR A.J. Green (Georgia), RB Mark Ingram (Alabama), DB Mark Barron (Alabama) and Butler (Georgia).
The SEC media will announce its preseason All-Conference Team Friday morning.
(* - Tie)
Pos. Name School Ht. Wt. Class Hometown
QB Ryan Mallett Arkansas 6-6 238 Jr. Texarkana, Ark.
RB Mark Ingram Alabama 5-10 215 Jr. Flint, Mich.
RB Derrick Locke Kentucky 5-9 190 Sr. Hugo, Okla.
WR A.J. Green Georgia 6-4 205 Jr. Summerville, S.C.
WR Julio Jones Alabama 6-4 220 Jr. Foley, Ala.
TE D.J. Williams Arkansas 6-2 251 Sr. Little Rock, Ark.
OL Clint Boling Georgia 6-5 310 Sr. Alpharetta, Ga.
OL Carl Johnson Florida 6-5 360 Sr. Durham, N.C.
OL Barrett Jones Alabama 6-4 301 So. Memphis, Tenn.
OL Lee Ziemba Auburn 6-8 391 Sr. Rogers, Ark.
C Mike Pouncey Florida 6-4 310 Sr. Lakeland, Fla.
Pos. Name School Ht. Wt. Class Hometown
DL Marcell Dareus Alabama 6-4 306 Jr. Birmingham, Ala.
DL Jerrell Powe Ole Miss 6-2 320 Sr. Waynesboro, Miss.
DL Cliff Matthews South Carolina 6-4 260 Sr. Cheraw, S.C.
LB Josh Bynes Auburn 6-2 235 Sr. Lauderdale Lakes, Fla.
LB Dont'a Hightower Alabama 6-4 258 So. Lewisburg, Tenn.
LB Chris Marve Vanderbilt 6-0 232 Jr. Memphis, Tenn.
LB Kelvin Sheppard LSU 6-3 239 Sr. Stone Mountain, Ga.
DB Mark Barron Alabama 6-2 210 Jr. Mobile, Ala.
DB Patrick Peterson LSU 6-1 211 Jr. Pompano Beach, Fla.
DB Stephon Gilmore South Carolina 6-1 188 So. Rock Hill, S.C.
DB Janoris Jenkins Florida 5-11 186 Jr. Pahokee, Fla.
Special Teams
Pos. Name School Ht. Wt. Class Hometown
PK Blair Walsh Georgia 5-10 191 Jr. Boca Raton, Fla.
P Drew Butler Georgia 6-2 207 Jr. Duluth, Ga.
RS Warren Norman Vanderbilt 5-10 192 So. Stone Mountain, Ga.
AP Randall Cobb Kentucky 5-11 186 Jr. Alcoa, Tenn.
Pos. Name School Ht. Wt. Class Hometown
QB Greg McElroy Alabama 6-3 225 Sr. Southland, Texas
RB Jeff Demps Florida 5-8 184 Jr. Winter Garden, Fla.
RB Trent Richardson Alabama 5-11 220 So. Pensacola, Fla.
WR Darvin Adams Auburn 6-3 185 Jr. Kennesaw, Ga.
WR Alshon Jeffery South Carolina 6-4 237 So. St. Matthews, S.C.
TE Luke Stocker Tennessee 6-6 253 Sr. Berea, Ky.
OL James Carpenter Alabama 6-5 300 Sr. Augusta, Ga.
OL DeMarcus Love Arkansas 6-5 315 Sr. Lancaster, Texas
OL Derek Sherrod Miss. State 6-6 305 Sr. Columbus, Miss.
OL *Cordy Glenn Georgia 6-5 330 Jr. Riverdale, Ga.
OL *Joseph Barksdale LSU 6-5 315 Sr. Detroit, Mich.
C Ryan Pugh Auburn 6-4 297 Sr. Hoover, Ala.
Pos. Name School Ht. Wt. Class Hometown
DL Pernell McPhee Miss. State 6-4 285 Sr. Pahokee, Fla.
DL Drake Nevis LSU 6-1 292 Sr. Marrero, La.
DL *DeQuin Evans Kentucky 6-3 256 Sr. Long Beach, Calif.
DL *Chris Walker Tennessee 6-3 245 Sr. Memphis, Tenn.
DL * Ladi Ajiboye South Carolina 6-2 278 Sr. Riverdale, Ga.
LB Jerry Franklin Arkansas 6-1 241 Jr. Marion, Ark.
LB A.J. Jones Florida 6-1 226 Sr. Tampa, Fla.
LB Craig Stevens Auburn 6-3 229 Sr. Tallahassee, Fla.
LB K.J. Wright Miss. State 6-4 250 Sr. Olive Branch, Miss.
DB Ahmad Black Florida 5-9 189 Sr. Lakeland, Fla.
DB Chris Culliver South Carolina 6-1 197 Sr. Garner, N.C.
DB Will Hill Florida 6-1 204 Jr. West Orange, N.J.
DB Neiko Thorpe Auburn 6-2 186 Jr. Tucker, Ga.
Special Teams
Pos. Name School Ht. Wt. Class Hometown
PK Caleb Sturgis Florida 5-10 192 Jr. St. Augustine, Fla.
P Chas Henry Florida 6-3 222 Jr. Dallas, Ga.
RS Brandon Boykin Georgia 5-10 183 Jr. Fayetteville, Ga.
AP Chris Rainey Florida 5-9 176 Jr. Lakeland, Fla.