Walsh named to Groza Watch List

Named Freshman All-SEC by SEC Coaches in 2008, made Bulldog debut vs. Georgia Southern connecting for a 52-yard field goal on his first-career FG attempt. UGA kicker Blair Walsh has been named to the 2009 Groza Award preseason watch list.
WEST PALM BEACH, FL -- The 18th annual quest to name the finest place kicker in college football's FBS division (Division1-A) begins as the Palm Beach County Sports Commission unveils its pre-season watch list of thirty. Headlining the group are 2008 finalist Josh Arauco of Arkansas State and 2007 Lou Groza Award recipient Thomas Weber of Arizona State.
Nine 2008 semi-finalists are named to the list including seniors, Arauco, Leigh Tiffin of Alabama, Sam Glusman of Troy State and Jonathan Phillips of Florida. Eighteen of the kickers listed are under classmen. The SEC is the most recognized conference with five members included. The Big Ten and Big Twelve each placed four kickers on the list.
More than three hundred media representatives, coaches, past recipients, conference and university officials make up the voting panel which selects the recipient of the Lou Groza Collegiate Place Kicking Award. The Award will be presented on Dec. 10, 2009, as part of the ESPN Home Depot College Football Awards program. The three finalists will be honored at the 18th annual Lou Groza Award Banquet to be held at the Kravis Center in West Palm Beach, Florida on Tuesday Dec. 8.
For more information on the Lou Groza Award and the Palm Beach County Sports Commission visit
Click here to view the list of all kickers.