Moses named to Nagurski Watch List

DALLAS (FWAA) – The Football Writers Association of America has announced the
Bronko Nagurski Trophy Watch List for the 2005 season. Fifty standout players
from around the country have been nominated for consideration in the preseason.

Article Continues Below
The Bronko Nagurski Trophy, awarded to the best defensive player in college
football, has been a staple of the FWAA's awards since 1993. It is sponsored by
the Charlotte Touchdown Club, which has held the annual awards banquet since
The 2005 banquet is set for Monday, Dec. 5, at the Westin Hotel in Charlotte,
where five finalists will vie for the prize. Texas linebacker Derrick Johnson
won the 2004 Bronko Nagurski Trophy.
The FWAA All-America Committee selects the Bronko Nagurski winner from the
association's 11-man All-America defensive team in late November. Players may be
added from the Bronko Nagurski Watch List during the course of the 2005 season.
For the fifth straight season, the FWAA will select Bronko Nagurski National
Defensive Players of the Week, beginning with games the week of Sept. 3 and
running through the middle of November. Each national player of the week will be
added to the trophy's watch list throughout the season.
Muhammad Abdullah, DB, Kentucky
Rufus Alexander, LB, Oklahoma
Jason Allen, DB, Tennessee
Jon Alston, LB, Stanford
Dan Bazuin, DE, Central Michigan
Darnell Bing, DB, USC
Larry Birdine, DE, Oklahoma
H. B. Blades, LB, Pittsburgh
Trent Bray, LB, Oregon State
Ahmad Brooks, LB, Virginia
Jeremy Chase, DE, Navy
Bernard Davis, LB, Troy
Will Derting, LB, Washington State
Ray Edwards, DE, Purdue
John Eubanks, DB, Southern Miss
Steve Fifita, DL, Utah
Gabriel Fulbright, DB, New Mexico
Charles Gordon, DB, Kansas
Chad Greenway, LB, Iowa
Korey Hall, LB, Boise State
Roman Harper, DB, Alabama
Spencer Havner, LB, UCLA
A. J. Hawk, LB, Ohio State
Abdul Hodge, LB, Iowa
Thomas Howard, LB, UTEP
Michael Huff, DB, Texas
D'Qwell Jackson, LB, Maryland
Cameron Jensen, LB, BYU
Mathias Kiwanuka, DE, Boston College
LaRon Landry, DB, LSU
Jesse Mahelona, DT, Tennessee
Derrick Martin, DB, Wyoming
Larry McSwain, DE, UAB
Quentin Moses, DE, Georgia
Terna Nande, LB, Miami (Ohio)
Haloti Ngata, DT, Oregon
Paul Posluszny, LB, Penn State
Josh Powell, DB, San Jose State
DeMeco Ryans, LB, Alabama
Ko Simpson, DB, South Carolina
Ernie Sims, LB, Florida State
Darryl Tapp, DE, Virginia Tech
Dhyan Tarver, DB, Army
Gabe Watson, DT, Michigan
Jimmy Williams, DB, Virginia Tech
Travis Williams, LB, Auburn
Kyle Williams, DT, LSU
Mario Williams, DE, N.C. State
Rodrique Wright, DT, Texas
Alan Zemaitis, DB, Penn State
The Football Writers Association of America, a non-profit organization founded
in 1941, consists of more than 900 men and women across North America who cover
college football for a living. The membership includes journalists, broadcasters
and publicists, as well as key executives in all the areas that involve the
game. The FWAA works to govern areas that include gameday operations, major
awards, a national poll and its annual All-America team.
The Charlotte Touchdown Club is a non-profit organization founded in 1990 for
the purpose of promoting high school, collegiate, and professional football in
the Charlotte, N.C. region. The club's activities and services focus community
attention on the outstanding citizenship, scholarship, sportsmanship, and
leadership of area athletes and coaches.