football Edit

Dawgs tabbed second

HOOVER, Ala. - Apparently, the press covering SEC Media Days believe Georgia has a fighting chance in the SEC East as the Bulldogs were picked second behind defending division champion South Carolina.
The Bulldogs picked up 38 first-place votes, putting Mark Richt's squad solidly ahead of third-place Florida (12), Tennessee (1), Kentucky (1) and Vanderbilt.
South Carolina was the overwhelming choice to win the league with 114 first-place votes.
In the West, Alabama was the pick to not only take home first place but was the overwhelming choice to win the SEC crown.
The Tide collected 111 first-place votes.
Alabama was followed by LSU (30), Arkansas (23), Mississippi State (1), Auburn and Ole Miss (2).
The Rebels and Vanderbilt were the only schools not to receive a first-place vote.
Georgia's predicted standing was reflected in the voting for the preseason All-Conference team as the Bulldogs placed six members on the first-team squad, second behind Alabama which landed nine.
Included on that list for the Bulldogs include tight end Orson Charles, offensive lineman Cordy Glenn and quarterback Aaron Murray, kicker Blair Walsh, punter Drew Butler and Brandon Boykin.
Boykin has the distinction of getting voted to both first- and second-team units as a kick returner and cornerback, respectibely.
Other Bulldogs making the second team include center Ben Jones and defensive tackle DeAngelo Tyson.
First-Team Offense
TE Orson Charles, Georgia (71)
OL Barrett Jones, Alabama (148)
OL Bradley Sowell, Ole Miss (72)
OL Cordy Glenn, Georgia (71)
*OL Larry Warford, Kentucky (55)
*OL Brandon Mosley, Auburn (55)
C William Vlachos, Alabama (97)
WR Greg Childs, Arkansas (103)
WR Alshon Jeffery, South Carolina (152)
QB Aaron Murray, Georgia (117)
RB Marcus Latimore, South Carolina (130)
RB Trent Richardson, Alabama (119)
Second-Team Offense
TE Philip Lutzenkirchen, Auburn (57)
OL D.J. Fluker, Alabama (52)
OL Alex Hurst, LSU (33)
OL Bobby Massie, Ole Miss (30)
OL Chance Warmack, Alabama (24)
C Ben Jones, Georgia (45)
WR Marquis Maze, Alabama (22)
WR Joe Adams, Arkansas (17)
QB Stephen Garcia, South Carolina (23)
RB Knile Davis, Arkansas (50)
RB Mike Dyer, Auburn (23)
Third-Team Offense
*TE Michael Williams, Alabama (12)
*TE Brandon Barden, Vanderbilt (12)
OL Grant Cook, Arkansas (21)
OL Kyle Nunn, South Carolina (21)
OL Rokevious Watkins, South Carolina (18)
*OL Alvin Bailey, Arkansas (14)
*OL Addison Lawrence, Mississippi State (14)
*OL Gabe Jackson, Mississippi State (14)
C Travis Swanson, Arkansas (9)
WR Jarius Wright, Arkansas (8)
WR Emory Blake, Auburn (7)
QB Jordan Jefferson, LSU (12)
RB Brandon Bolden, Ole Miss (5)
RB Tauren Poole, Tennessee (3)
First-Team Defense
DL Jake Bequette, Arkansas (100)
DL Josh Chapman, Alabama (85)
DL Kentrell Lockett, Ole Miss (59)
DL Malik Jackson, Tennessee (63)
LB Dont'a Hightower, Alabama (144)
LB Courtney Upshaw, Alabama (82)
LB Danny Trevathan, Kentucky (69)
DB Mark Barron, Alabama (140)
DB Robert Lester, Alabama (79)
DB Stephon Gilmore, South Carolina (64)
DB Morris Claiborne, LSU (63)
Second-Team Defense
DL Devin Taylor, South Carolina (56)
DL Nosa Eguae, Auburn (37)
DL DeAngelo Tyson, Georgia (30)
*DL Fletcher Cox, Mississippi State (26)
*DL Travian Robertson, South Carolina (26)
LB Chris Marve, Vanderbilt (61)
LB Jerry Franklin, Arkansas (35)
LB Ryan Baker (22)
DB Dre' Kirtkpatrick, Alabama (50)
DB Brandon Boykin, Georgia (43)
DB Janzen Jackson, Tennessee (34)
DB Neiko Thorpe, Auburn (31)
Third-Team Defense
DL Melvin Ingram, South Carolina (21)
DL Barkevious Mingo, LSU (21)
DL Sam Montgomery, LSU (20)
*DL Tenarius Wright, Arkansas (15)
*DL Dominique Easley, Florida (15)
LB Shaq Wilson, South Carolina (18)
LB C.J. Mosley, Alabama (17)
*LB Jon Bostic, Florida (12)
*LB Jerico Nelson, Arkansas (12)
DB Casey Hayward, Vanderbilt (18)
DB T'Sharvan Bell, Auburn (18)
DB Tryann Mathiew, LSU (17)
DB Tramian Thomas, Arkansas (16)
First-Team Specialist
K Blair Walsh, Georgia (110)
P Drew Butler, Georgia (118)
RS Brandon Boykin, Georgia (53)
AP Trent Richardson, Alabama (71)
Second-Team Specialist
PK Caleb Sturgis, Florida (24)
P Tyler Campbell, Ole Miss (21)
RS Onterrio McCalebb, Auburn (29)
AP Joe Adams, Arkansas (42)
Third-Team Specialist
*K Zach Hocker, Arkansas (10)
*K Bryson Rose, Ole Miss (10)
P Ryan Tydlacka, Kentucky (13)
RS Maruis Maze, Alabama (28)
AP Trey Burton, Florida (22)
*Tie vote