Quick links:
 Latest Team Rankings
 Free Rivals Alerts
 Member Services
ShopMobileRadio RSSRivals.com Yahoo! Sports

August 24, 2005

22 top Quarterbacks nominated for Golden Arm

LOUISVILLE, Ky.- Twenty-two outstanding senior quarterbacks have been selected as the top candidates for the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award, presented annually to the nation's top senior collegiate quarterback by the Frank Camp Chapter of the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Educational Foundation.

The nation's top senior quarterback is selected for the award from a list compiled by a select committee of football experts from across the United States. Additional candidates could be added at a later date if their performance dictates inclusion. The committee will choose five finalists plus any ties and announce the list on Oct. 19.

The 2005 recipient will be announced Nov. 30, with the award presentation to be made in Louisville on December 9 at the Clarion Conference Center.

The prestigious award bears the name of who many refer to as the finest quarterback to ever play the game of football, a University of Louisville alumnus. Established in 1987, the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award has previously honored 18 outstanding young men.

Oklahoma quarterback Jason White won the award last year. Other past recipients include Don McPherson (Syracuse, 1987), Rodney Peete (USC, 1988), Tony Rice (Notre Dame, 1989), Craig Erickson (Miami, Fla., 1990), Casey Weldon (Florida St., 1991), Gino Torretta (Miami, Fla., 1992), Charlie Ward (Florida St., 1993), Jay Barker (Alabama, 1994), Tommie Frazier (Nebraska, 1995), Danny Wuerffel (Florida, 1996), Payton Manning (Tennessee, 1997), Cade McNown (UCLA, 1998), Chris Redman (Louisville, 1999), Chris Weinke (Florida State, 2000), David Carr (Fresno State, 2001), Carson Palmer (USC, 2002) and Eli Manning (Mississippi, 2003).

2005 Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award Candidates

Player School 2004 Statistics
  • Brett Basanez Northwestern 247-460 passes, 2,838 yds., 12 TDs
  • Josh Betts Miami (Ohio) 267-442 passes, 3,495 yds., 23 TDs
  • Kellen Clemens Oregon 223-372 passes, 2,548 yds., 22 TDs
  • Brodie Croyle Alabama 44-66 passes, 534 yds., 6 TDs
  • Jay Cutler Vanderbilt 147-241 passes, 1,844 yds., 10 TDs
  • Jay Davis North Carolina St. 175-313 passes, 2,104 yds., 12 TDs
  • Brett Elliott Linfield College 290-437 passes, 4,595 yds., 61 TDs
  • Bruce Gradkowski Toledo 280-399 passes, 3,518 yds., 27 TDs
  • Darrell Hackney UAB 197-358 passes, 3,070 yds., 26 TDs
  • Marques Hagans Virginia 164-261 passes, 2,024 yds., 9 TDs
  • Justin Holland Colorado State 121-197 passes, 1,622 yds., 6 TDs
  • Joel Klatt Colorado 192-334 passes, 2,065 yds., 9 TDs
  • Matt Leinart USC 269-412 passes, 3,322 yds., 33 TDs
  • Travis Lulay Montana State 269-490 passes, 3,485 yds., 15 TDs
  • Reggie McNeal Texas A & M 200-344 passes, 2,791 yds., 14 TDs
  • Drew Olson UCLA 196-341 passes, 2,565 yds., 20 TDs
  • Paul Pinegar Fresno State 173-292 passes, 2,099 yds., 23 TDs
  • Quinton Porter Boston College *140-250 passes, 1,764 yds., 14 TDs * 2003 statistics; redshirted in 2004
  • Michael Robinson Penn State 14-39 passes, 170 yds., 1 TDs
  • D.J. Shockley Georgia 26-60 passes, 464 yds., 4 TDs
  • Brad Smith Missouri 191-369 passes, 2,185 yds., 17 TDs
  • Charlie Whitehurst Clemson 177-349 passes, 2,067 yds., 7 TDs

    In addition to honoring a player with the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award, the Frank Camp Chapter of the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Educational Foundation has awarded more than $500,000 in scholarships to deserving scholar athletes from area high schools. The foundation also honors participants in six local youth leagues.

    The Transamerica Insurance and Investment Group, a leading provider of innovative business and personal financial services, is a major corporate sponsor for the award and organization as well as Southwest Airlines, the official airline for the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Educational Foundation; and WAVE3, the official Kentucky Derby station. Insight Communications, the eighth-largest cable operator in the United States serving Kentucky, Indiana, Illinois and Ohio, is an active sponsor and will televise the event on a delayed basis.

    The namesake of the award has a storied history which has earned him the recognition of being the greatest quarterback to ever play in the NFL.

    An 18-year veteran of the NFL, Unitas played his collegiate career at the University of Louisville (1951-54), passing for 3,007 yards and 27 touchdowns. Unitas, who wore number 19 as a professional, had his No. 16 collegiate uniform retired at Louisville, the lone number retired by the Cardinals.

    He began his 18-year pro career with the Baltimore Colts in 1956 and played there until joining the San Diego Chargers for his final season. His career passing figures are mind boggling. He completed 2,830 of 5,186 passes for 40,239 yards and 290 touchdowns during his 18-year NFL career. Among his many records is one that may stand forever, throwing a touchdown pass in 47 consecutive games.

    Unitas was recently selected as the top quarterback of all-time by the Pro Football Hall of Fame 36-member selection committee. In commemorating the NFL's 25th, 50th and 75th anniversaries, he was also honored as the greatest quarterback of all time. A Pro Bowl participant 10 times and a three-time Most Valuable Player honoree, Unitas was inducted into the Professional Football Hall of Fame in 1979. In turn of the century listings, Unitas was featured among Sports Illustrated's top ten athletes, Time's ten most influential athletes and in ESPN's series on the 50 greatest athletes of the century.

    Note: All candidates must be completing their college eligibility this season to be eligible for The Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award. Candidates are judged upon citizenship, scholastic achievement, leadership qualities and athletic accomplishments.

  • Georgia NEWS


    Latest Headlines:

    Rivals.com is your source for: College Football | Football Recruiting | College Basketball | Basketball Recruiting | College Baseball | High School | College Merchandise
    Site-specific editorial/photos UGASports.com. All rights reserved. This website is an officially and independently operated source of news and information not affiliated with any school or team.
    About | Advertise with Us | Contact | Privacy Policy | About our Ads | Terms of Service | Copyright/IP policy | Yahoo! Sports - NBC Sports Network

    Statistical information 2014 STATS LLC All Rights Reserved.